Steve Koerber's Old Blog

Remuera's house sold name since 1998 – 021864166

Passion, goals, immigrants, investors, results & family

Posted by Steve Koerber on April 15, 2010

 Dear everyone, this is my April 2010 newsletter sent to all my valued clients. 

Although I’ve been helping people to buy and sell since 1996, as each year passes I find myself becoming even more passionate about real estate as a career.  Whether prices are going up, down or sideways, I love helping people from all walks of life move from one phase of their lives to the next.  Every day this is a truly fascinating industry to be involved with.

This time every year I sit on Piha beach to set my goals for the coming financial year.  Part of this process involves analysing my listings and sales to see where they’ve come from.  It’s probably no surprise that most of my listings were kindly referred to me by people just like you.  What will surprise you is that 70% of my 2009 sales went to people who were born overseas (mostly Chinese immigrants).  What an amazing statistic!    

It’s anyone’s guess what changes the government will soon announce about the treatment of property as an investment.  What I can tell you is that a higher than usual percentage of investors have been selling excess rental properties.  In fact 57% (or 8 of my 14 sales since January) were tenanted properties.  Incredibly, all but one went to owner-occupiers.  Are we staring down the barrel of a rental shortage and rent increases?  I think that is a highly likely scenario.

On a personal note I finished the year ranked in the elite Barfoot & Thompson Top 25.  I actually had my most successful year ever and plan to do even better this coming year.  Home life has been mildly hectic and our kids are now 15 (Katie), 6 (Charlotte) and 4&11/12ths (Joshua).  Joshua finally starts school next week.

As a family we’re very settled in our home and it seems we won’t be moving for a while.  If however you’re thinking about making a change, needless to say, I’d love to help you with your next move.  And if you have a rental property you’d like to cash-up, the chances are high that I can find a wannabe owner-occupier to take it off your hands.

Yours sincerely,

Steve Koerber

Barfoot & Thompson – Remuera

Leave a Reply

 
