Steve Koerber's Old Blog

Remuera's house sold name since 1998 – 021864166

30 minute Open Homes

Posted by Steve Koerber on December 3, 2007

It always brings a smile to my face when I drive past a private seller advertising a two hour open home.  Don’t get me wrong, if someone has great sales, marketing and negotiation skills they should consider selling privately.  I have nothing against it. 

It’s just that people outside the industry just don’t seem to “get” open homes.  And that’s not surprising, considering they’re not experienced in these matters!

Why do I run 30 minute open homes?  I’ve been running them for that length of time since 1996 because 30 minutes is the most effective time frame in all respects.  I’ve tried 45 minutes and one hour, but they are certainly no more effective and probably less so.

How does it work? 

For a start, I’m usually able to get from open to open with sufficient time up my sleeve to open the house, make it look good, open windows, turn on lights, music etc.  When a buyer turns up I’m ready standing at the door with a smile (not puffing from rushing), a brochure and I record their details in my open home register, chat, etc.

Because buyers have less time there’s likely to be more of them inspecting the house at any one time.  This makes a home look busier and more popular than if I had it open for say, two hours.

And now for the BIG reason.  If you were buying a home and had three similar homes you wanted to view and they were all open from 1pm, you would need to decide which one to visit first.  If one was open 1 – 2pm, another 1 – 1.45pm and another 1 – 1.30pm, which one would you go to first?  The answer is clear and simple (1 – 1.30pm).  And if you really love the first one you see you might delete the others from your list, stick around and make an offer.  Sold!

Leave a Reply

 
